One index: prices, toes, welts and widths.
Cowboy Boot Index, October 2026 edition: 64 boots from 19 brands, with prices checked October 11 to 16, 2026. The headline numbers:
- On October 11, 2026, the median price of the 46 boots from the 16 other brands was $412.50.
- As of October 11, 2026, 19 of the 39 other-brand boots that state a construction (49%) name a Goodyear welt.
- As of October 11, 2026, 38 of the 45 other-brand men's boots that list widths (84%) include a wide option: EE, 2E, EW or Wide.
- As of October 11, 2026, 18 of the 46 other-brand boots (39%) list a largest size of 15 or more.
The Index reports the data. For who makes what, and where, read our guide to the best cowboy boot brands. Other brands means the 16 brands outside the house brands: Alvies, Hevias and Olsen-Stelzer, which Bespoke Western makes and sells. The 64 boots are a picked set, not the market, so every share below reads as X of the N boots in the Index.
Key numbers
Each cell shows a figure with its n. House boots lift three all-boots shares: a Goodyear welt (62% against 49%), Mexico (71% against 56%) and a leather outsole (75% against 68%).
| Number (n shown in each cell) | Other brands | All ready-to-wear | House brands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median price today | $412.50 (n=46) | $390 (n=61) | $390 (n=15) |
| Boots priced below their regular price | 13 of 46 (28%) | 13 of 61 (21%) | 0 of 15 (0%) |
| Construction names a Goodyear welt | 19 of 39 (49%) | 33 of 53 (62%) | 14 of 14 (100%) |
| Place of manufacture stated as Mexico | 15 of 27 (56%) | 30 of 42 (71%) | 15 of 15 (100%) |
| Place of manufacture stated as the USA | 12 of 27 (44%) | 12 of 42 (29%) | 0 of 15 (0%) |
| Outsole is leather | 28 of 41 (68%) | 39 of 52 (75%) | 11 of 11 (100%) |
| Men's width list includes a wide option | 38 of 45 (84%) | 45 of 52 (87%) | 7 of 7 (100%) |
| Men's largest listed size is 15 or more | 18 of 46 (39%) | 25 of 57 (44%) | 7 of 11 (64%) |
How we built it
The Index comes from the Bespoke Western research catalog, where every field carries its source page and the date we read it. Each edition uses a fixed list: 64 boots from 19 brands, of which 61 ready-to-wear boots from 18 brands feed the statistics (46 other-brand boots and 15 house boots).
Of the 16 other brands, 15 add 3 boots each and Lane adds 1. Each trio is a best-known boot, a lowest-priced full-leather boot and a top premium or exotic boot. So lowest and highest mean lowest and highest in the Index.
Price today is what the page or feed charged on October 11, 2026 (Corral A4541: October 13, 2026; Alvies and Hevias: October 16, 2026). Full price is the regular price when a boot is priced below it, and the price today otherwise. We lead with medians because a few high prices pull a mean up, and calculated dollar figures round half up to the cent.
Every line shows its n. A boot whose page lists no value is marked Not listed and left out of that line's n. Nocona, Anderson Bean and Rios of Mercedes (9 boots) were priced at a retailer, each checked October 11, 2026, and the all-boots table names it.
The Ariat Heritage R Toe Western Boot price of $113.99 is a marked-down price: its page reads "Price reduced from $189.95 to $113.99".
Exotic uppers are alligator, crocodile, caiman, python, snake, lizard, teju, ostrich, elephant, pirarucu and fish. A wide option is any width label with EE, 2E, EW or the word wide, and listed sizes are the sizes a page offers as options. A boot counts as Goodyear when its page names a Goodyear welt, so Full Welt with Double Row Stitch counts as another welt.
The 3 Olsen-Stelzer made-to-measure rows, with published starting prices of $1,500, $3,000 and $5,500, sit in the 64-boot table and in no statistic. Bespoke Western makes and sells Alvies, Hevias and Olsen-Stelzer boots. I am an Operating Partner at Rujo Boots, and Rujo has 3 boots in the Index.
Each edition carries its own date. To cite: Bespoke Western, Cowboy Boot Index, October 2026 edition, prices checked October 11 to 16, 2026.
What is the average price of cowboy boots?
In the Index, the median price today is $412.50 for the 46 boots from other brands and $390 for all 61 ready-to-wear boots (prices checked October 11 to 16, 2026). The mean runs higher, at $716.85 and $648.85, because 6 of the 46 other-brand boots cost $1,000 and up, so the median is the number to quote. How much cowboy boots cost explains what each price tier buys.
| Measure | Other brands | All ready-to-wear | House brands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median price today | $412.50 (n=46) | $390 (n=61) | $390 (n=15) |
| Mean price today | $716.85 (n=46) | $648.85 (n=61) | $440.33 (n=15) |
| Median full price | $412.50 (n=46) | $395 (n=61) | $390 (n=15) |
| Mean full price | $757.16 (n=46) | $679.25 (n=61) | $440.33 (n=15) |
The lowest price today is $69 (Nocona NB5562 Honey Cowhide Brown, at Boot Jack, checked October 11, 2026) and the highest is $7,295 (Lucchese Colton (Cognac + Light Brown)). Of the 46 other-brand boots, 13 (28%) were priced below the regular price listed on the page; no house boot was.
Price bands
| Price today | Other brands | All ready-to-wear |
|---|---|---|
| Under $200 | 12 of 46 (26%) | 12 of 61 (20%) |
| $200 to $399.99 | 9 of 46 (20%) | 19 of 61 (31%) |
| $400 to $599.99 | 10 of 46 (22%) | 13 of 61 (21%) |
| $600 to $999.99 | 9 of 46 (20%) | 11 of 61 (18%) |
| $1,000 and up | 6 of 46 (13%) | 6 of 61 (10%) |
Entry, best-known, premium and exotic boots
| Role across the 15 other brands with three boots (n=15) | Median price today | Range today | Median full price | Range full price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry boot (lowest price today of a brand's three) | $199.99 | $69 to $595 | $295 | $139 to $595 |
| Best-known boot (middle price today) | $375 | $110 to $895 | $375 | $165 to $895 |
| Premium boot (highest price today) | $945 | $125 to $7,295 | $999.95 | $199.99 to $7,295 |
Other-brand boots with exotic uppers have a median price today of $879.95 (n=19), against $256 (n=27) for the rest.
How many boots in the Index name a Goodyear welt?
Of the 39 other-brand boots that state a construction, 19 (49%) name a Goodyear welt and 36 (92%) name a welt of some kind, as of October 13, 2026. Across the 53 ready-to-wear boots that state one, 33 (62%) name Goodyear, and so do all 14 house boots that state one.
| Construction as stated | Other brands | All ready-to-wear | House brands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Names a Goodyear welt | 19 of 39 (49%) | 33 of 53 (62%) | 14 of 14 (100%) |
| Names a welt other than Goodyear | 17 of 39 (44%) | 17 of 53 (32%) | 0 of 14 (0%) |
| Pegged | 1 of 39 (3%) | 1 of 53 (2%) | 0 of 14 (0%) |
| Cemented | 1 of 39 (3%) | 1 of 53 (2%) | 0 of 14 (0%) |
| Welt type not named | 1 of 39 (3%) | 1 of 53 (2%) | 0 of 14 (0%) |
| Names any welt (Goodyear or another) | 36 of 39 (92%) | 50 of 53 (94%) | 14 of 14 (100%) |
| Not listed (of all boots in the group) | 7 of 46 (15%) | 8 of 61 (13%) | 1 of 15 (7%) |
To me, construction is the value of a boot: a well-built pair, looked after, lasts a lifetime, and you can resole or re-cobble it as often as you like. The Goodyear welt guide shows what a welt is and how it compares with other builds.
Where are the boots in the Index made?
Of the 27 other-brand boots that state a place of manufacture, 15 (56%) say Mexico and 12 (44%) say the USA, and 19 of the 46 state none, as of October 13, 2026. All 15 house boots say León, Mexico.
| Place of manufacture as stated | Other brands | All ready-to-wear | House brands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mexico | 15 of 27 (56%) | 30 of 42 (71%) | 15 of 15 (100%) |
| The USA | 12 of 27 (44%) | 12 of 42 (29%) | 0 of 15 (0%) |
| Of the Mexico boots, the place named is León | 10 of 15 (67%) | 25 of 30 (83%) | 15 of 15 (100%) |
| Of the Mexico boots, the place named is Guanajuato | 3 of 15 (20%) | 3 of 30 (10%) | 0 of 15 (0%) |
| Stated place adds “with global parts” | 3 of 27 (11%) | 3 of 42 (7%) | 0 of 15 (0%) |
| Stated place is a brand-level statement | 5 of 27 (19%) | 5 of 42 (12%) | 0 of 15 (0%) |
| Not listed (of all boots in the group) | 19 of 46 (41%) | 19 of 61 (31%) | None; all 15 state Mexico |
The 19 other-brand boots with no listed place are 3 Corral, 3 Durango, 3 HYER, 3 Nocona, 2 Ariat, 2 Tony Lama, 1 Dan Post, 1 Justin and 1 Lane. Each brand's own wording is in where cowboy boots are made.
Which boots in the Index have leather soles?
Of the 41 other-brand boots that list an outsole, 28 (68%) have a leather outsole, 8 (20%) rubber or synthetic and 4 (10%) a leather and rubber hybrid, as of October 13, 2026. All 11 house boots that list an outsole are leather.
| Outsole as stated | Other brands | All ready-to-wear | House brands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leather | 28 of 41 (68%) | 39 of 52 (75%) | 11 of 11 (100%) |
| Rubber or synthetic | 8 of 41 (20%) | 8 of 52 (15%) | 0 of 11 (0%) |
| Leather and rubber or synthetic hybrid | 4 of 41 (10%) | 4 of 52 (8%) | 0 of 11 (0%) |
| Named without a material | 1 of 41 (2%) | 1 of 52 (2%) | 0 of 11 (0%) |
| Not listed (of all boots in the group) | 5 of 46 (11%) | 9 of 61 (15%) | 4 of 15 (27%) |
Which cowboy boot brands offer EE widths and size 15?
Of the 16 other brands, 14 (88%) have at least one men's boot in the Index with a wide option (EE, 2E, EW or Wide) and 10 (63%) have at least one men's boot in the Index that lists size 15 or more, as of October 13, 2026. The brands with a wide-option boot in the Index are Anderson Bean, Ariat, Chisos, Corral, Dan Post, Durango, HYER, Justin, Lucchese, Nocona, Rios of Mercedes, Rujo, Tecovas and Tony Lama.
| Men's width list | Other brands | All men's ready-to-wear | House men's styles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Includes a wide option (EE, 2E, EW or Wide) | 38 of 45 (84%) | 45 of 52 (87%) | 7 of 7 (100%) |
| Includes a narrow (B) option | 5 of 45 (11%) | 5 of 52 (10%) | 0 of 7 (0%) |
| Lists a single width | 8 of 45 (18%) | 8 of 52 (15%) | 0 of 7 (0%) |
| Not listed (of all boots in the group) | 1 of 46 (2%) | 5 of 57 (9%) | 4 of 11 (36%) |
The two other brands with no wide option among their indexed boots are Old Gringo (D) and Lane (no widths listed). Dan Post's EW counts as wide: a Q&A answer on a Dan Post product page, signed Store Owner (January 15, 2024), says "Our EW boots are 2 1/2E wide, so they are slightly wider than 2E but not as wide as 3E." Of the 7 house men's styles that list widths, all 7 include a wide option, and the other 4 house men's styles, all Hevias, list none. The wide feet guide and the shoe width chart explain the letters.
| Listed sizes | Other brands | All men's ready-to-wear | House men's styles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Largest size is 15 or more | 18 of 46 (39%) | 25 of 57 (44%) | 7 of 11 (64%) |
| Largest size is 14 or more | 36 of 46 (78%) | 43 of 57 (75%) | 7 of 11 (64%) |
| Largest size is 16 or more | 2 of 46 (4%) | 2 of 57 (4%) | 0 of 11 (0%) |
| Smallest size is 7 or less | 28 of 46 (61%) | 28 of 57 (49%) | 0 of 11 (0%) |
Two boots list a size of 16 or more: Dan Post Franklin Leather Boot (largest listed size 18) and Dan Post Milwaukee Leather Boot J Toe (largest listed size 16). See cowboy boots in size 14 and 15.
How tall are the heels and shafts?
The median heel height is 1.5 in for the 37 other-brand boots that list one and for the 48 ready-to-wear boots that list one, with a range of 1 in to 2 in, as of October 13, 2026. The median shaft height is 12 in (n=37 and n=48), from 10 in to 14 in for other brands and 7 in to 16 in for all ready-to-wear boots.
Heels cluster at 1.5 in to 1.74 in: 17 of 37 other-brand boots (46%) and 22 of 48 ready-to-wear boots (46%). The heel types guide names the styles.
The brands side by side
Brands are ordered by the median full price of their Index boots, a sort and not a ranking. A Yes means at least one indexed boot from the brand names a Goodyear welt. A No means the boots that list a construction name another build. Not listed means none of the brand's boots lists one.
| Brand | Boots | Median full price | Tier | A boot names Goodyear | Place stated by a boot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Durango | 3 | $165 | Under $300 | Yes | Neither |
| Ariat | 3 | $189.95 | Under $300 | Yes | Mexico |
| Nocona | 3 | $199.99 | Under $300 | No | Neither |
| Justin | 3 | $249.95 | Under $300 | No | USA |
| Dan Post | 3 | $289.95 | Under $300 | No | Mexico |
| Tony Lama | 3 | $329.95 | $300 to $399.99 | No | USA |
| Corral | 3 | $369 | $300 to $399.99 | Yes | Neither |
| Tecovas | 3 | $375 | $300 to $399.99 | Yes | Mexico |
| Hevias (house) | 4 | $385 | $300 to $399.99 | Yes | Mexico |
| Alvies (house) | 11 | $390 | $300 to $399.99 | Yes | Mexico |
| HYER | 3 | $390 | $300 to $399.99 | Yes | Neither |
| Anderson Bean | 3 | $400 | $400 to $599.99 | No | USA |
| Rujo | 3 | $425 | $400 to $599.99 | Yes | Mexico |
| Rios of Mercedes | 3 | $549.95 | $400 to $599.99 | No | USA |
| Chisos | 3 | $595 | $400 to $599.99 | Yes | Mexico |
| Old Gringo | 3 | $719 | $600 and up | Not listed | Mexico |
| Lucchese | 3 | $895 | $600 and up | No | USA |
| Lane | 1 | One boot, not tiered | Not tiered | No | Neither |
| Olsen-Stelzer (house) | 3 | Made to measure, from $1,500 | Not tiered | Not in the statistics | Not listed |
For a made-to-measure boot, the custom cowboy boots guide walks through the order.
What we make, in the data
Alvies and Hevias are 15 of the 61 ready-to-wear boots. All 14 house boots that state a construction name a Goodyear welt, all 15 state León, Mexico, and all 11 that list an outsole are leather. The four Alvies women's styles list one width (B).
The data also shows where the house trails. Hevias lists no widths, outsole, toe, heel height or shaft height for its 4 boots, and its largest listed size is 13. Browse the Alvies collection, the Hevias collection or all boots.
All 64 boots
Prices checked October 11, 2026 (Corral A4541: October 13, 2026; Alvies and Hevias: October 16, 2026). Regular price is the compare-at price when the page shows one, and Not stated means the page lists none. Alvies and Hevias boots link to their product pages; Olsen-Stelzer rows show published starting prices.
| Boot | Price | Regular price |
|---|---|---|
| Alvies The Rainey | $330 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Trinity | $330 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Guadalupe | $365 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Comal | $390 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Lamar | $390 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Perry Lane | $390 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Shoal Creek | $390 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Manchaca | $440 | Not stated |
| Alvies The BFG II | $580 | Not stated |
| Alvies The 6th Street | $690 | Not stated |
| Alvies The Congress | $690 | Not stated |
| Anderson Bean S1116 Mike Tyson Bison / Blue Lava | $400 (at Texas Boot Company) | Not stated |
| Anderson Bean S5003 Natural Brahma Bison / Sky Blue Avatar | $400 (at Texas Boot Company) | Not stated |
| Anderson Bean S3013 Bark Vintage Elephant / Black Glove | $745 (at Texas Boot Company) | Not stated |
| Ariat Heritage R Toe Western Boot | $113.99 | $189.95 |
| Ariat Sport Outdoor Cowboy Boot | $179.95 | Not stated |
| Ariat Bench Made James Western Boot | $999.95 | Not stated |
| Chisos No. 1 | $595 | Not stated |
| Chisos No. 2 | $595 | Not stated |
| Chisos No. 1 Ostrich | $945 | Not stated |
| Corral Embroidered Black Cowhide J Toe (A4541) | $174 | $248 |
| Corral Brown Python Vamp Snip Toe (A4452) | $369 | Not stated |
| Corral Liberty Eagle Alligator (A5150) | $879 | Not stated |
| Dan Post Milwaukee Leather Boot J Toe | $169.95 | $229.95 |
| Dan Post Franklin Leather Boot | $289.95 | Not stated |
| Dan Post Delano American Alligator Boot | $1,699.95 | Not stated |
| Durango Shyloh Burgundy Western Boot | $99 | $139 |
| Durango Rebel Pull-On Western Boot | $165 | Not stated |
| Durango PRCA Collection Caiman Belly Western Boot | $549 | $665 |
| Hevias The Heritage Boot - Calfskin | $355 | Not stated |
| Hevias The Heritage Boot - American Bison (Coal) | $385 | Not stated |
| Hevias The Heritage Boot - American Bison (Copper) | $385 | Not stated |
| Hevias The Rebel - Midnight Reticulated Python | $495 | Not stated |
| HYER Hazelton | $256 | $320 |
| HYER Sawyer | $390 | Not stated |
| HYER Pratt | $670 | Not stated |
| Justin Canter 11" Western | $169.95 | Not stated |
| Justin Austin 11" Western | $249.95 | Not stated |
| Justin Bryant 11" Crocodile | $1,009.95 | Not stated |
| Lane RodeoHouston Men's 2026 Limited Edition (Desert Clay) | $246.65 | $395 |
| Lucchese Baker (Black) | $595 | Not stated |
| Lucchese Luke (Barnwood + Tan) | $895 | Not stated |
| Lucchese Colton (Cognac + Light Brown) | $7,295 | Not stated |
| Nocona NB5562 Honey Cowhide Brown | $69 (at Boot Jack) | $159.99 |
| Nocona NB5536 Go Round Broad Brown | $110 (at Boot Jack) | $199.99 |
| Nocona NB5548 Go Round Pirarucu Cognac | $125 (at Boot Jack) | $199.99 |
| Old Gringo Nevada Bis | $508 | Not stated |
| Old Gringo Valentino | $719 | Not stated |
| Old Gringo Richmond Short | $1,828 | Not stated |
| Rios of Mercedes R9002 Rust Burnished Crazyhorse | $549.95 (at Baker Shoe) | Not stated |
| Rios of Mercedes R9024 Redwood Mirage / Black Remuda | $549.95 (at Baker Shoe) | Not stated |
| Rios of Mercedes R9019 Black Caiman Belly / Black Calfskin | $879.95 (at Baker Shoe) | Not stated |
| Rujo The Canyon | $119.99 | $325 |
| Rujo The Beck | $425 | Not stated |
| Rujo The Leo | $750 | $1,500 |
| Tecovas The Buck | $295 | Not stated |
| Tecovas The Doc | $375 | Not stated |
| Tecovas The Marshall | $1,995 | Not stated |
| Tony Lama Avett 11" American Bison | $199.99 | $264.95 |
| Tony Lama Blaine 11" Ostrich | $329.95 | Not stated |
| Tony Lama Zamaro 13" Sueded Alligator | $1,999.95 | Not stated |
| Olsen-Stelzer Made-to-Measure Boot, Cowhide / Shoulder / Goat / Buffalo | $1,500 | Not stated |
| Olsen-Stelzer Made-to-Measure Boot, Full Quill Ostrich (Foot & Top) | $3,000 | Not stated |
| Olsen-Stelzer Made-to-Measure Boot, Alligator Belly (Foot & Top) | $5,500 | Not stated |
Retailer-read prices, each checked October 11, 2026: Nocona at Boot Jack, Anderson Bean at Texas Boot Company, Rios of Mercedes at Baker Shoe.
Quick answers
Are cowboy boots expensive?
It depends on the tier. On October 11, 2026, 12 of the 46 other-brand boots (26%) cost under $200 and 6 (13%) cost $1,000 and up, with a median price today of $412.50.
What percent of cowboy boots are Goodyear welted?
Of the 39 other-brand boots in the Index that state a construction, 19 (49%) name a Goodyear welt. The Index is a picked set, so read that as 19 of 39 boots in the Index.
Which cowboy boot brands make size 15?
As of October 13, 2026: Ariat, Chisos, Corral, Dan Post, Durango, Justin, Lane, Rios of Mercedes, Tecovas and Tony Lama, plus our house brand Alvies, each list a men's boot in size 15 or more. Listed sizes are not a promise of current stock.
Do cowboy boots come in EE widths?
Of the 16 other brands, 14 (88%) have at least one men's boot in the Index with a wide option (EE, 2E, EW or Wide), as of October 13, 2026.
How often is the Index updated?
Each edition is dated. This is the October 2026 edition, with prices checked October 11 to 16, 2026.
Bottom line
Three numbers carry the October 2026 edition: a median price today of $412.50 for the 46 boots from other brands, 19 of 39 other-brand boots (49%) naming a Goodyear welt, and 38 of 45 other-brand men's boots (84%) with a wide option. Quote each with its n and the date.
Where to go next
- Shop all boots, or the Alvies and Hevias collections.
- Best cowboy boot brands, who makes what, and where.
- How much cowboy boots cost and where cowboy boots are made.
- Cowboy boots for wide feet and the Goodyear welt guide.